Home PoliticsGossip

YSRC MPs' Resignations Accepted!

YSRC MPs' Resignations Accepted!

At last, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Wednesday accepted the resignations of five MPs belonging to YSR Congress party.

The five MPs - Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy from Nellore, P Mithun Reddy from Rajampet, V Varaprasad Reddy from Tirupati, Y Avinash Reddy from Kadapa and Y V Subba Reddy from Ongole, met the Speaker in Delhi and reiterated that they were committed to their resignations which they had submitted on April 6.

The Speaker then told them to submit fresh resignation letters, confirming the earlier ones, so that she could accept the same.

"We submitted fresh letters. An official communique from the Speaker's office accepting our resignations will come today evening or tomorrow," Mekapati said.

The question now is whether the Speaker will notify the vacancies of five MPs to Election Commission of India. And even if it does, it is not known whether the EC will conduct by-election to the vacant seats.

There is a talk that EC may not conduct by-elections to seats in states which are going to general election within a year.

"We are not bothered whether or not by-elections are held for the vacant seats. We quit our posts in protest against denial of special category status to AP. We have achieved our purpose," the YSRC MP said.



Tags: Lok Sabha Resignations YSRCP MPs