Home PoliticsGossip

Two select committees on capital bills?

Two select committees on capital bills?

Even as the YSR Congress party government in Andhra Pradesh is getting ready to adopt a resolution in the state assembly on Monday to do away with the state legislative council on the ground that it has become a hurdle for the implementation of government decisions, legislative council chairman Mohd Ahmed Sharif announced setting up of select committee to look into the bills.

According to sources, the legislative council chairman has constituted two select committees and not one, to study the two bills separately – one on repeal of AP Capital Region Development Authority (APCRDA) and the other on decentralisation of state administration by creating three capitals.

While finance minister Buggana Rajendranath Reddy would be heading the select committee on decentralisation bill, municipal administration minister Botsa Satyanarayana would be heading the bill on repealing the APCRDA Act.

Sources said each committee would have five MLCs from Telugu Desam Party, two from YSRC and one each from Progressive Democratic Front and Bharatiya Janata Party. There could be one member from Governor’s quota.

The office of the Chairman of the Legislative Council has appealed to the parties to suggest the names of the members for the committees. A full-fledged committee will be formed after the committee members are nominated, sources said.

The latest info on OTT/Streaming content, Home Delivered!


Tags: YSRCP TDP Andhra Pradesh Buggana Rajendranath Reddy APCRDA Mohd Ahmed Sharif