Home PoliticsGossip

Reddys lose CLP post to Dalit, TS Cong Reddy leaders upset!

Reddys lose CLP post to Dalit, TS Cong Reddy leaders upset!

Congress is traditionally known as the party of Reddys in Telugu states. The Reddy dominance is even more in Congress in Telangana compared to Andhra. 

Reddys dominated Congress party as Chief Ministers, CLP leaders and Leaders of Oppositions even in Undivided AP.

Though Congress lost to TRS in Telangana in 2014, Reddys continue their stronghold on the party.

K Jana Reddy was made CLP leader and Leader of Opposition while N Uttam Kumar Reddy was made TPCC chief.

In recent TS Assembly polls, Jana Reddy lost election while Uttam Kumar Reddy won.

Reddy leaders vied with each other to bag CLP post in Telangana Legislative Assembly. Uttam made all the efforts till the last minute to secure CLP post by lobbying in Delhi and even offered to relinquish his TPCC president post for CLP. But his efforts did not materialise.

Uttam Kumar Reddy, Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy, Sabitha Indra Reddy, Jagga Reddy were in the race with the hope of Congress high command continuing the tradition of appointing a Reddy for CLP post.

However, AICC president Rahul Gandhi appointed Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, a dalit, as CLP leader.

Bhatti is the only second dalit to become CLP leader in the history of Congress in Telugu States. In Undivided AP, Damodaram Sanjeeviah, a dalit was made CLP leader and CM in the 1960s. 

Now, Bhatti achieved this feat after a gap of six decades.

Naturally,Telangana Reddy leaders are upset at Congress high command for denying Reddys their traditional post of CLP in Telangana.

They are still trying to bring pressure of Congress high command to change CLP leader at least after Lok Sabha polls and make Reddy, a CLP leader again.

It remains to be seen how Reddy leaders will cooperate with Bhatti in the Assembly.


Tags: Telangana Uttam Kumar Reddy Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka Reddy CLP