Home PoliticsAndhra News

Rebel YSRCP MLAs seek more time for explanation!

Rebel YSRCP MLAs seek more time for explanation!

The four rebel MLAs of ruling YSR Congress party, who were summoned before Andhra Pradesh state assembly speaker Tammineni Seetharam on Monday morning, to given an explanation for joining the Telugu Desam Party, have conveniently evaded the meeting 

The four MLAs – Anam Ramnarayana Reddy from Venkatagiri, Mekapati Chandrasekhar Reddy from Udayagiri, Kotamreddy Sridhar Reddy from Nellore (rural) and Undavalli Sridevi from Tadikonda – were supposed to depose before the Speaker at 11 am.

At the same time, the Speaker also issued summons to four rebel Telugu Desam Party MLAs – Vallabhaneni Vamsi from Gannavaram, Maddali Giridhar from Guntur (West), Vasupalli Ganesh (Visakhapatnam South) and Karanam Balaram (Chirala) – asking them to appear before him in the afternoon to give their explanation for defecting to the YSRCP.

However, the rebel YSRCP MLAs did not appear in the morning and wrote to the Speaker seeking at least two more weeks’ time to give their explanation. They told Seetharam that they had already appeared once and presented their version.

Apparently, they are apprehensive that once they are disqualified, the Speaker might not insist on the explanation of the rebel TDP MLAs and they would be allowed to vote in Rajya Sabha elections.

So, they want to push Seetharam in a tight situation. If he wants to disqualify the rebels, he has to take action against both the YSRCP and TDP rebel MLAs.

If he disqualifies only the rebel YSRCP MLAs and spares the rebel TDP MLAs, there is every possibility that they might go to the court to get the stay.