Home PoliticsTelangana News

2 BRS ministers, 6 legislators involved in phone tapping

2 BRS ministers, 6 legislators involved in phone tapping

According to reports, police have identified two ministers from the BRS party, along with three MLAs and three MLCs, as individuals involved in the mass phone tapping operations.

Sources indicate that T. Prabhakar Rao, the former Chief of the Special Intelligence Bureau, is expected to return from the US by April 2. Police plan to serve him notice and record his statement in connection with the matter.

The Special Investigation Team (SIT), led by west zone DCP S.M. Vijay Kumar, has identified the politicians based on statements from police officers. They are preparing to serve notices to these individuals, as per disclosed sources.

During questioning, senior police officers N. Bhujanga Rao and M. Thirupatanna reportedly stated that they followed the orders of Prabhakar Rao.

They, along with retired DSP G. Radha Kishan Rao and suspended DSP D. Praneeth Rao, established 11 war rooms at various locations upon Prabhakar Rao's instructions, tapping phones as directed.

Police have requested custody of Radha Kishan Rao for further investigation, as he reportedly admitted to tapping phones of various individuals.

Bhujanga Rao and Thirupatanna claimed they did not directly participate in extortion but employed mediators.

According to sources, the SIT, led by Vijay Kumar, is verifying the claims made by the accused and collecting evidence.

Further clarity is expected after questioning Prabhakar Rao, who allegedly served as a mediator between political leaders and the police team.

Reports suggest that at Chanchalguda jail, Radha Kishan Rao, Bhujanga Rao, and Thirupatanna confronted Praneeth Rao for implicating them in the case.

Praneeth Rao expressed regret and mentioned his disbelief at the government's change and the consequences of their actions.


Tags: Telangana Phone Tapping BRS