Home PoliticsGossip
Sujana, Ashok to resign after March 5?

Stung by the announcement made by YSR Congress party president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy that his party MPs would resign from their posts if the Centre does not grant special category status by April 6, Telugu Desam Party president and chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu is planning a counter-strategy.

At the party’s coordination committee meeting on Wednesday, Naidu is learnt to have hinted at forcing his two ministers in the Union cabinet – P Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Y S Chowdary resign from their posts as a first step after March 5. If still there is no response from the Centre, the TDP would consider pulling out of the NDA completely.

“We have not been getting any additional benefits from the cabinet posts at the Centre. So, it doesn’t make much difference even if the two ministers resign.

However, it will send a strong message to the people. We have been trying all options to get justice to the state. Let us take this message among the people,” Naidu told the party leaders.

The chances of the TDP MPs resigning from the posts on the lines of the YSRC MPs, are very remote, as Naidu wants to sustain the fight in Parliament.

“If we quit the MP seats, we cannot muster the support of other parties at the national level against the BJP,” Naidu reportedly told them.




Tags: Ashok Gajapathi Raju Jagan Sujana Chowdary TDP