ga image
Home PoliticsGossip

One-Family-One Ticket Rule Only For A Few?

One-Family-One Ticket Rule Only For A Few?

It looks like the Telangana Congress Committee is learnt to have given a go by the condition set by the All India Congress Committee that only one member from one family would be given the party ticket for the assembly elections.

The first list of 24 names finalized by the Pradesh Congress Committee’s election committee on Wednesday comprises at least three families getting two seats each.

PCC chief Capt N Uttam Kumar Reddy will contest from Huzurnagar, while his wife Padmavathi will contest from Kodad.

Similarly, former home minister Sabita Indra Reddy will contest from Maheshwaram, while her son P Karthik Reddy will contest form Rajendranagar constituency.

Former minister Komatireddy Venkat Reddy will contest from Nalgonda and his brother Rajagopal Reddy will be in fray from Munugode assembly constituency.

Some of the big names finalized in the first list are: A Revanth Reddy (Kodangal), Gandra Venkata Ramana Reddy (Bhupalpalli), Konda Surekha (Parkal), Ponnala Lakshmaiah (Jangaon), Kuna Srisailam Goud (Qutbullapur), D Sudheer Reddy (L B Nagar), Pratap Reddy (Shadnagar), Shabbir Ali (Kama Reddy), Sudershan Reddy (Bodhan), D Sridhar Babu (Manthani), Maheshwar Reddy (Nirmal), Jeevan Reddy (Jagitial), K Jana Reddy (Nagarjunasagar), Geetha Reddy (Zaheerabad), Damodar Rajanarasimha (Andole), T Jayaprakash Reddy (Sangareddy), Ponnam Prabhakar (Karimnagar), D K Aruna (Gadwal), Sampath Kumar (Alampur), Chinna Reddy (Wanaparthy) and M Bhatti Vikramarka (Madhira).

The PEC met to shortlist the party candidates after examining the applications received from the aspirants with the help of surveys being conducted on their winning chances.

The AICC appointed committee would select the first best among them and would submit the list to the core committee of the AICC for announcement of the official candidates.

The PEC would pick up the aspirants on the basis of their popularity among masses, their loyalty towards the party, financial strength and their performance in the previous elections.



Tags: Congress Telangana