Home PoliticsGossip
Money power: TDP shock YSRC in MLC polls

In a rude shock to YSR Congress party president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy, the Telugu Desam Party grabbed the MLC seat under local bodies’ constituency in Kadapa district, considered to be the stronghold of the YSR family.

Besides, the TDP also won bitterly fought MLC elections in Kurnool and Nellore districts. In all the three districts, the YSRC has the majority in the local bodies, but the TDP used its money power to turn the tide in its favour.

The TDP maintained camps for the defected voters and ensured that the flock remains together, though there were reports of cross voting in favour of the YSRC in some parts.

In Kadapa, TDP candidate B Tech Ravi won the MLC seat by defeating Y S Vivekananda Reddy, uncle of Jagan, with a slender margin of 33 votes.

The victory comes despite the fact that the TDP does not have adequate strength in the mandal and zilla parishads, besides the municipalities and corporations.

Needless to say, the TDP “managed” the victory by luring a large number of YSRC corporators, councillors, MPTC and ZPTC members with sheer money power.

With the help of defected MLA Adinarayana Reddy and Rajya Sabha member C M Ramesh, the TDP candidate B Tech Ravi spent money lavishly to lure the YSRC voters in a big way.

Though Jagan also played his cards effectively and spent money, he could not match with money power of the TDP. This resulted in the victory of the TDP candidate by a slender margin.

Same thing happened in Kurnool. TDP candidate Shilpa Chakrapani Reddy won the MLC seat by defeating YSRC candidate Gouru Venka Reddy with a margin of over 50 votes.

Similarly, in Nellore, the TDP candidate Vakati Narayan Reddy won the MLC seat defeating YSRC candidate Anam Vijaykumar Reddy by a margin of 87 votes.



Tags: MLC TDP YSR Congress