Home PoliticsGossip

Congress Faces Heat: 8 DCC Chiefs Quit

A day after the Union Cabinet gave its nod for draft Telangana bill, the ruling Congress has started feeling the heat in Andhra Pradesh. 

Apart from the public anger which spilled over to the streets and normal life came to a standstill in large parts of Seemandhra region, the political fallout has begun to pal out. 

As many as eight District Congress Committee (DCC) presidents resigned from their posts on Friday to protest the division of the state.

The Congress bosses could prevent the resignations. Gandhi Bhavan, the state Congress headquarters, was abuzz with activity as the PCC chief Botsa Satyanarayana, himself a strong opponent of the state’s division, tried in vain to assuage the ruffled feelings of the party’s Seemandhra leaders and the DCC presidents. 

However, they were not in a position to listen to the leadership. They announced that they were quitting the posts. Some more might follow in due course.

The mass resignations are expected at lower levels of the party organisations in the days ahead. Meanwhile, Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy, who has already revolted against the high command’s decision on bifurcation, held a meeting with his cabinet colleagues and other elected representatives from Seemandhra at his camp office to chalk out the future plan of action.

It is said that they discussed strategies on how to defeat the draft Telangana bill when it is referred to the State Assembly which is meeting fro December 12.

Kiran, who hails from Chittoor district in Rayalaseema region, has vowed to fight for the cause of integrated state “till the last minute”.

New App Alert: All OTT Apps & Release Dates Under One App