Home PoliticsAndhra News

Tension grips TDP seniors, as Naidu under pressure

Tension grips TDP seniors, as Naidu under pressure

Several Telugu Desam Party leaders, who could find their names in the first list of candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, are tense, as party president N Chandrababu Naidu is left with too little options to accommodate them.

While Naidu has to fulfil the obligations of the Jana Sena Party, he may also have to consider the demands of the Bharatiya Janata Party if it joins the alliance. At the same time, he is also under pressure from potential leaders from YSR Congress party.

All through Sunday, Naidu had to spend a lot of time discussing with senior ticket aspirants on how to adjust their seats. He had a talk with senior legislator Gorantla Buchaiah Chowdary, who was firm on contesting from Rajahmundry (rural). 

Finally, he had to concede the demand and request Jana Sena Party candidate Kandula Durgesh, who was finalised for the same seat to adjacent, to move to Nidadavolu. He reportedly agreed for the same after request from Pawan Kalyan.

Former MP from Hindupur Nimmala Kishtappa, who had been lobbying for Penukonda assembly seat, was crestfallen as it was allocated to Savitha.

Another senior Kambhampati Rammohan Rao, who was expecting Viskahapatnam Lok Sabha seat, is now asking for at least Eluru LS seat.

Former minister Devineni Umamaheshwar Rao, who represented Mylavaram in the past, is in a tight spot, as his arch rival from YSR Congress party and sitting MLA Vasantha Krishna Prasad on Monday announced joining the TDP in a day or two.

As a result, Naidu is compelled to allot him Mylavaram ticket and shift Devineni to Penamaluru.

Similarly, former TDP MLA from Gurajala Yarapathineni Srinivas Rao, who has been nurturing his constituency for the last five years, is now forced to go to Narasaraopet, as Naidu is compelled to accommodate Janga Krishna Murthy, a BC leader defecting from YSRCP.

At Sarevepalli, former minister Somireddy Chandramohan Reddy is in a tense situation as Naidu got the reports favourign Pellakuru Srinivasulu Reddy. So is the position of defected YSRCP MLA Anam Ramnaryana Reddy, who is being considered for Venkatagiri and Atmakuru constituencies.

Another senior and former state TDP president Kala Venkat Rao, who is expecting the party ticket from Etcherla, is also upset for not being able to find his name in the first list of candidates.

There is no clarity on the fate of several other leaders like Chintamaneni Prabhakar from Denduluru, Peela Govid from Anakapalle and Bandaru Satyanarayana Murthy from Pendurthi.

As regards Ganta Srinivasa Rao, the TDP chief asked him to go to Cheepurupalli, but he is firm on the Bheemili seat.


Tags: TDP Andhra Pradesh