Home PoliticsAndhra News

Jagan's next plan: 25 districts in AP?

Jagan's next plan: 25 districts in AP?

After making a sensational announcement on formation of three capitals for Andhra Pradesh, YSR Congress president and chief minister Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy is said to be contemplating delimitation of existing districts in the state to create 12 more districts.

YSR Congress party general secretary and Rajya Sabha member V Vijay Sai Reddy made an announcement to this effect at the birthday celebrations of Jagan Mohan Reddy at Visakhapatnam on Saturday.

Sai Reddy said Jagan is to make an announcement on increasing the number of districts in the state from 13 to 25 very soon. Apparently, the chief minister is planning to make each parliamentary constituency into a district.

The YSRC leader said Jagan had created a new history by deciding to form three capital states for Andhra Pradesh.

“He has taken the decision not out of his hunger for power, but to ensure all-round development of all the regions in the state. His idea is not to confine development to a particular region, but to decentralise the development,” Sai Reddy commented.

On this occasion, the Rajya Sabha member said the proposal to take up delimitation of districts into 25 districts was also a part of the decentralised planning.

“Visakhapatnam, which is going to become an executive capital of the state, will witness huge growth shortly,” Sai Reddy added.


Tags: Andhra Pradesh Vijay Sai Reddy new districts CM Jagan