Home PoliticsTelangana News

Uttam Kumar Reddy to contest from Nalgonda

Uttam Kumar Reddy to contest from Nalgonda

Hyderabad: The Congress party on Monday night named its Telangana state chief Uttam Kumar Reddy as the candidate from Nalgonda Lok Sabha seat while AICC secretary Madhu Goud Yashki will contest from Nizamabad.

The Congress party, which had announced candidates for eight Lok Sabha seats in Telangana on March 15, announced the candidates for eight more seats around midnight.

The party has not yet taken a decision on Khammam, from where former Union Minister Renuka Chowdhury is a contender for the party ticket.

Former Indian cricket captain Mohammad Azharuddin and actress Vijaya Shanti, both former MPs and among the key aspirants, were ignored in the second list.

Uttam Kumar Reddy is currently a member of Telangana state Assembly. Madhu Yashki, who is in-charge of party affairs in Karnataka, will take on Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao's daughter K. Kavitha in Nizamabad constituency.

Komatireddy Venkat Reddy (Bhongir), Mallu Ravi (Nagarkurnool) and Vamshi Chand Reddy (Mahabubnagar), who were defeated in Assembly elections held in December figured in the second list.

Firoz Khan, who too was defeated in Assembly polls, will take on Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) president Asaduddin Owaisi in Hyderabad.

Azharuddin was reportedly keen to contest from Secunderabad but the party preferred former MP Anjan Kumar Yadav.

The Congress has announced Dommati Sambaiah as the candidate for Warangal seat.


Tags: Uttam Kumar Reddy Nalgonda Elections 2019