Home PoliticsTelangana News

Exodus from BRS into Cong continues!

Exodus from BRS into Cong continues!

The exodus of leaders from the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) into the ruling Congress in Telangana continues, despite the outcry from the BRS leadership over the defections, which violate the anti-defection law.

On Thursday, another BRS legislator, T Prakash Goud from Rajendranagar, quit the party and met Telangana Congress president and Chief Minister A Revanth Reddy. He is set to join the Congress party on Friday.

Sources close to the MLA revealed that he had met senior Congress leaders and expressed his desire to join the party. Alongside him, two municipal councillors from Rajendranagar municipality will also join the Congress.

There were speculations that Prakash Goud would join the Congress in April itself when he met the chief minister. However, he did not take further steps at that time, as BRS party president K T Rama Rao convinced him to stay in the party.

Following the BRS debacle in the Lok Sabha elections, Prakash Goud decided to call it quits and join the Congress. Notably, Prakash Goud was an old-time colleague of Revanth Reddy when both were in the Telugu Desam Party.

He was a two-time MLA from TDP in 2009 and 2014. After winning the seat in 2014, he defected to the BRS.

The Rajendranagar MLA is the eighth BRS lawmaker to join the Congress, following Bandka Krishna Mohan Reddy (Gadwal), Kale Yadaiah (Chevella), Pocharam Srinivas Reddy (Banswada), Sanjay Kumar (Jagtial), Danam Nagender (Khairatabad), Kadiyam Srihari (Station Ghanpur), and Tellam Venkat Rao (Bhadrachalam).


Tags: Telangana Congress BRS T Prakash Goud