Home PoliticsIndia News

Regional parties from Telugu states back BJP!

Regional parties from Telugu states back BJP!

For a change, all regional parties belonging to the Telugu states extended support to the Bharatiya Janata Party on Monday in the abolition of Article 370 pertaining to autonomous status to Jammu and Kashmir and also in the division of the state into two separate union territories.

Telangana Rashtra Samithi from Telangana and Telugu Desam Party and YSR Congress party in Andhra Pradesh voted in favour of the bill seeking to reorganise Jammu and Kashmir state into two Union territories.

Leaders of all the three parties hailed the decision of the BJP as historic and hoped that it would bring back the peace in the strife torn Kashmir valley.

The BJP, of course, hailed what it termed the “complete integration of Jammu and Kashmir' with India.

“We admire the political will, courage and decisiveness of PM Narendra Modi to have taken this historic initiative, which will transform the geographical & administrative connect with Jammu and Kashmir forever,” BJP spokesperson K Krishna Sagar Rao said.

TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu, who held a meeting with his party leaders in Amaravati, expressed hope that the decision would improve the living standards, employment opportunities, marital freedoms and fundamental rights of the people.

TRS former MP K Kavitha hoped that the decision would not lead to disruption of peace in the Jammu and Kashmir region.



Tags: YSRCP TDP Jammu and Kashmir Telugu States Article 370