Home PoliticsGossip
Some Respite To The NDA

Despite a majority in the Lok Sabha, the BJP is being thwarted time and again in the Rajya Sabha where it has strength of only 48 MP's in the 245 member Upper House.

It has some key bills coming up for voting such as the ‘Goods and Services Tax’ Bill which is expected to be a game changer for the Indian economy.

Naturally, the opposition would try to prevent a smooth sail for the BJP as the bill would result in BJP going on a PR overdrive. Therefore, every single vote counts for the NDA in the Rajya Sabha.  

Five nominated members will retire on March 21 while two others  - Ashok Ganguly and H K Dua - have already retired.

The five members who will be retiring on March 21 are Mani Shankar Aiyer, Javed Akhtar, B Jayashree, Mrinal Miri and Bhalchandra Mungekar. They will be replaced with new members who will be appointed by the President on the recommendation of the government.

Naturally, the government will only recommend those sympathetic to its cause. These seven members should provide some respite to the beleaguered NDA in the Rajya Sabha.



Tags: BJP NDA Rajya Sabha