ga image
Home PoliticsGossip

By-Polls To 5 MP Seats In AP Inevitable?

By-Polls To 5 MP Seats In AP Inevitable?

The by-elections to five Lok Sabha constituencies in Andhra Pradesh appear to be inevitable going by the indications coming from New Delhi.

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan summoned the five YSR Congress party MPs, who submitted their resignations from their membership, to New Delhi on May 29 to have a final talk with them before accepting their resignations.

A letter to this effect was sent to all the MPs to meet the Speaker between 5 pm and 6 pm on April 29.

If the five MPs – Y V Subba Reddy from Ongole, Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy from Nellore, V Varaprasad Reddy from Tirupati, Y Avinash Reddy from Kadapa and P Mithun Reddy from Rajampet insist that their resignations be accepted, the Speaker might immediately accept the same.

“We are committed to our resignations. We will insist on their acceptance,” Varaprasad Reddy told media on Tuesday.

The Speaker was initially not very keen accepting the same because the YSRC MPs quit their posts on the demand for special category status issue.

She could have continued to sit on them for some more time, but she was compelled to take a decision after accepting the resignations of two BJP MPs from Karnataka – B S Yeddyurappa and B Sri Ramulu, on the back drop of their election to Karnataka Assembly.

Now, if the resignations are accepted, there would definitely be by-elections to the five MP seats and that would be a big embarrassment to Telugu Desam Party headedby Andhra Pradesh chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu.

All these days, Naidu was confident that the Lok Sabha speaker would not accept the resignations of the five MPs.

If the resignations are accepted before June 2, when the new state of Andhra Pradesh was formed, there is no possibility of conducting the by-elections, as the Election Commission will not conduct by-elections to the seats having less than a year term.

Now with the by-elections appearing inevitable, it would be big loss of face if the TDP loses all the five on the demand for special category status. And that would have an impact on TDP prospects in 2019!



Tags: BJP Lok Sabha TDP YSRCP