Home PoliticsAndhra News

Three capitals plan halted, for now!

Three capitals plan halted, for now!

At least for another three months, Amaravati will continue to remain the state capital of Andhra Pradesh, as the Telugu Desam Party members in the legislative council successfully halted the three capitals bills of the YSR Congress party government headed by Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy.

Legislative council chairman Mohd Ahmed Sharif, who is a TDP member, used his “discretionary powers” and referred the two bills -- one for repealing AP Capital Region Development Authority Act and another on decentralisation of administration through formation of three capital cities – to the Select Committee.

The chairman, who appeared to be favouring the ruling party in the morning by allowing a debate on the two bills despite objections raised by the TDP members, took a surprising decision after repeated adjournments of the council following arguments between the YSRC and TDP members.

The select committee, to be obviously headed by a TDP member, will take its own sweet time – not less than three months – to study, discuss and conduct field studies to gather people’s opinion, before giving its report. Till then, there will be status quo on the capital city.

The YSRC leaders described the chairman’s decision as a black day in democracy.

Strongly opposing the development, finance minister Buggana Rajendranath Reddy said the chairman had been under the influence of TDP president and opposition leader N Chandrababu Naidu, who was sitting in the officials’ gallery from where he was giving instructions.

He said when the two bills were passed by the assembly, the council had no business to delay them.

“If the TDP has majority in the council, it could have rejected them,” Buggana argued.

Leader of opposition in the council Yanamala Ramakrishnudu, however, said the legislative council chairman has the discretionary power to refer the bills to the select committee as per the rules.

The latest info on OTT/Streaming content, Home Delivered!


Tags: MLC Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy Three capitals for Andhra