Home PoliticsAndhra News

Pawan Kalyan's Debut: Blockbuster or Disaster?

Pawan Kalyan's Debut: Blockbuster or Disaster?

Will Pawan Kalyan step into Velagapudi assembly? Will he emerge as a kingmaker as he has been hoping to or as exit polls predict draw a blank? Results will be known in just 24 hours.

Let’s recap Pawan Kalyan’s political yatra…..

Pawan Kalyan began his political journey in 2009 as president of Yuvarajyam, youth wing of his brother floated political party ‘Prajarajyam’. His 2009 stint was a disaster.

He then continued acting in films and went on delivering blockbusters like “Gabbar Singh” and “Attarintiki Daaredi”.

Super hit show in 2014

In 2014, when Andhra Pradesh was divided into two states, Pawan Kalyan launched his own party Jana Sena but he and his party stayed away from contesting the polls. Instead, he campaigned for TDP and BJP, both the parties came into power.

His 2014’s political show not only was a blockbuster, his image and clout skyrocketed. PM Modi personally invited him for his swearing-in ceremony. Such was Pawan Kalyan’s image back then.

He returned back to Tollywood and continued doing films. However, all his films turned duds this time.

After the colossal flop of “Agnyaathavaasi”, Pawan Kalyan bid bye to films and took up his political party activities seriously.

In 2019 elections, he and his party, for the first time, entered into polls fray. This is his debut election battle.

He contested from Gajuwaka and Bhimavaram assembly seats, while his Jana Sena party has alliance with Left parties and BSP and fielded candidates nearly in 140 seats.

Exit polls have predicted that Pawan Kalyan might win one seat either Bhimavaram or Gajuwaka. The exit polls have given the picture that his party may also be reduced to just 4-5 seats in the Assembly, and no parliament seat is predicted.

Bhimavaram and Gajuwaka...Tough battle

Bhimavaram is predominantly dominated by Rajus and Kapus. Rajus have upper hand. This seat has been represented by either Congress party candidate or TDP candidates mostly from 1980’s.

Pawan Kalyan is facing stiff competition from YSRC candidate here. It would not be easy for him to secure the seat. However, some exit polls said that he may win this seat narrowly.

Gajuwaka assembly constituency was created in 2009 when it was won by Praja Rajyam Party. In 2014, Pawan Kalyan himself campaigned for TDP candidate and the TDP won this constituency.

This time, it had seen triangle fight but early trends say Pawan Kalyan might scape through to emerge as winner here.



Tags: Andhra Pradesh Elections 2019 AP Election Results Gajuwaka Jana Sena Pawan Kalyan