Home PoliticsAndhra News

It's Konathala vs Nagababu in Anakapalle!

It's Konathala vs Nagababu in Anakapalle!

Even as the seat-sharing talks with the Telugu Desam Party have yet to reach a final stage, Jana Sena Party chief and power star Pawan Kalyan is facing a tricky situation regarding the Anakapalle Lok Sabha seat.

As part of the understanding with the TDP, the Jana Sena Party is likely to contest from the Anakapalle parliamentary constituency. However, there is tough competition for the seat within the party.

According to sources, Pawan Kalyan has already decided to field his elder brother Nagababu from Anakapalle, and groundwork has already begun in that direction.

He has taken a house at Yelamanchili and has been conducting door-to-door campaigns for the last few days.

However, things changed after former MP and senior leader Konathala Ramakrishna joined the Jana Sena Party.

Konathala is reportedly vying for the same Anakapalle MP seat, despite Pawan having chosen his own brother for it. He insists that he is a local candidate with many supporters in the area.

Pawan Kalyan, however, informed Konathala that he had already decided to field Nagababu for the seat and suggested that the former minister choose an assembly constituency in the same district instead.

But Konathala did not agree and went into hiding in a sulking mood. He has not attended any of the party's programs for the last few days to register his protest.

In an attempt to pacify him, Pawan Kalyan visited Konathala's residence in Visakhapatnam on Sunday and discussed various possibilities. Apparently, Konathala insisted on being given the Anakapalle Lok Sabha seat, but the Jana Sena Party chief explained his constraints.

Konathala later told reporters that he had left it to Pawan to decide which seat should be given to whom.

"The party will decide where I should contest from. I suggested that Pawan Kalyan himself should contest from North Andhra," he said, adding that he couldn't participate in Nagababu’s programs as he was a bit busy.


Tags: Pawan Kalyan Andhra Pradesh Naga Babu Anakapalli Konathala Ramakrishna