Home PoliticsAndhra News

EC says no to change of glass tumbler symbol

EC says no to change of glass tumbler symbol

The Election Commission of India on Thursday expressed its inability to change the “glass tumbler” symbol allotted to independent candidates in the constituencies where Jana Sena Party headed by power star Pawan Kalyan is not contesting.

The EC authorities told the Andhra Pradesh high court that wherever Jana Sena Party is contesting, it has been allotted glass tumbler symbol and no other independent candidate will be given that symbol.

Chief Electoral Officer Mukesh Kumar Meena told reporters that in as many as 15 constituencies, where the Jana Sena Party is contesting, the glass tumbler symbol allotted to independents has been changed and they were allotted different symbols.

So, the glass tumbler is frozen in favour of Jana Sena only where it is contesting. But not in other constituencies, where its alliance partners – TDP and Bharatiya Janata Party are contesting. Since Jana Sena is not there in these seats, the glass tumbler symbol was allotted to independent candidates.

When the alliance leaders moved the high court, the ECI made it clear that the glass tumbler symbol cannot be frozen for the alliance, but it will be done only for Jana Sena.

“The election process has already begun and the EVMs have been sent to the armed forces. As such, the symbols cannot be changed at this stage. If we go on accepting the requests, such petitions continue to come till the polling is held,” the EC told the court.


Tags: Andhra Pradesh Election Commission Glass Tumbler