Home PoliticsTelangana News

One more MLA quits Cong to join TRS

One more MLA quits Cong to join TRS

The exodus of MLAs from Congress to the Telangana Rashtra Samithi appears to be going unabated.

On Wednesday, yet another Congress MLA Beeram Harshavardhan Reddy, representing Kollapur assembly constituency from erstwhile Mahabubnagar district, met TRS working president K T Rama Rao and expressed his interest to join the party.

He is the ninth Congress MLA to defect to the TRS, the other eight being – Rega Kantha Rao from Pinapaka, Atram Sakku from Asifabad, B Haripriya Naik from Yellandu, Chirumarthi Lingaiah from Nakirekal, Sabita Indra Reddy from Maheshwaram, Vanama Venkateshwara Rao from Kothagudem, D Sudhir Reddy from L B Nagar and Kandala Upender Reddy from Palair.

Though Sangareddy MLA T Jayaprakash Reddy also announced his plans to join the TRS, he withdrew his decision stating that his daughter did not want him to defect. But, there is no guarantee that he would continue in the party for a long time.

Harshavardhan Reddy’s decision to join the TRS, though on cards for quite some, was hastened with the defection of his political mentor D K Aruna into the Bharatiya Janata Party last night.

According to the TRS sources, at least another three MLAs have plans to defect to the TRS sooner or later.



Tags: Beeram Harshavardhan Reddy Congress Telangana TRS