Home PoliticsTelangana News

Anjani Kumar is new DGP of Telangana

Anjani Kumar is new DGP of Telangana

Telangana government headed by chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao on Thursday appointed senior IPS officer Anjani Kumar as the new director general of police (DGP), in place of M Mahender Reddy, who is retiring from service on superannuation on December 31.

Anjani Kumar, a 1990-batch IPS officer, is presently director general of Anti-Corruption Bureau (ACB). He had earlier served as the Hyderabad city police commissioner.

However, the order said Anjani Kumar will only be holding full additional charge of the DGP for the time being, till the government appoints a full-time DGP, after getting approval from the Union home ministry. He will also act as the DGP (Coordination).

Another senior IPS officer, also of 1990 batch, Ravi Gupta, who is presently Principal Secretary (home) will replace Anjani Kumar as the DGP of ACB, besides being given full additional charge of the post of DG (vigilance and enforcement).

Similarly, another IPS officer of 1992 cadre Dr Jitender who is preently Additional Director General of Police (Law &Order) has been transferred and posted as Principal Secretary to Government, Home. He will also hold the full additional charge of the post of DG (Prisons & Correctional Services).

Another major transfer done in Telangana was that of Rachakonda police commissioner Mahesh Muralidhar Bhagwat. This 1995-batch IPS officer, has been posted as Additional Director General of Police, CID, Telangana.

At the same time, Devendra Singh Chauhan, Additional Commissioner of Police (L&O), Hyderabad City is transferred and posted as Commissioner of Police, Rachakonda Commissionerate in place of Bhagwat.


Tags: Telangana Anjani Kumar