Home PoliticsGossip

Who Stopped Ganta From Joining YSRC?

Who Stopped Ganta From Joining YSRC?

Senior Telugu Desam Party leader and Andhra Pradesh minister for human resources development Ganta Srinivasa Rao would have joined the YSR Congress party by now, had there been serious objections raised from some senior leaders from the party.

According to highly placed sources, Ganta, who was peeved with TDP president and Andhra Pradesh chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu, almost decided to get out of the party.

He strongly believed that Naidu was entertaining complaints against him from his colleague Ch Ayyanna Patrudu.

What is more, He was disgruntled over a survey purportedly conducted by former MP Lagadapati Rajagopal’s team which said Ganta would lose his seat in the assembly elections from Bhimili in 2019.

Apparently, Ganta believed that the survey was done at the behest of Naidu and suspected that the chief minister might axe him in the next elections.

Moreover, Ganta has also realised that the TDP has bleak chances of returning to power again in the next elections and may be, he is looking for an alternative to sustain his political career.

So, he is learnt to have sent feelers to YSR Congress party president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy, not through Andhra leaders, but through a top leader in Telangana Rashtra Samithi who is closer to Jagan. And the YSRC chief, too, reportedly gave the consent.

“However, a senior YSRC leader, who has been advising Jagan on all key matters, put spokes in the plan and brainwashed Jagan against Ganta. Apparently, he told the YSRC chief that Ganta’s entry would damage the party in Visakhapatnam because of allegations of land grabbing against him and also the irregularities in higher education in collusion with his brother-in-law Municipal administration minister P Narayana. After that Jagan did not respond to Ganta’s further negotiations,” the sources said.

Having no other option, Ganta decided to stay back in the TDP, after Naidu assured him of retaining him from Bheemili in 2019 as well.



Tags: Chandrababu Naidu Ganta Srinivasa Rao YSR Congress