Home PoliticsGossip
SC Rejects Revanth Petition On Defections

The Telugu Desam Party hardly has any presence in Telangana now. Out of 15 MLAs who were elected on the TDP ticket, 12 MLAs have already joined the TRS. And only three are left now – A Revanth Reddy, S Venkata Veeraiah and R Krishnaiah.

The last two not being very active in the assembly, only Revanth is left waging a lone battle against TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao.

So, Revanth thought of embarrassing the TRS by seeking to implead in the petition filed by Congress MLA A Sampath Kumar in the Supreme Court seeking to disqualify all the MLAs who had defected to the TRS.

Interestingly, former TDLP leader and Palakurthy MLA Errabelli Dayakar Rao was also one of the petitioners in the past, but he withdrew his petition later and joined the TRS.

Now, only Sampath’s petition is before the Supreme Court, but Revanth too filed a petition seeking to implead in the case. But the Supreme Court on Monday rejected Revanth’s petition stating that he did not have any locus standi at this stage.

The court posted the petition to October 19 by issuing notices to the Speaker.



Tags: Revanth Reddy Supreme Court TDP Telangana