Home PoliticsGossip

Hari Gets Cabinet Berth; What About Telangana?

Hari Gets Cabinet Berth; What About Telangana?

It is now official. Bharatiya Janata Party MP from Visakhapatnam Kambhampati Hari Babu, who defeated YSR Congress party president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy’s mother Y S Vijayalakshmi in 2014 general elections, is going to become the Union minister on Sunday.

Following a call from the Prime Minister’s Office, Haribabu, along with his family members, left for New Delhi in the evening.

He is likely to swear-in as the Union minister of state and is most likely to get the portfolio of the water resources.

However, the fate of Telangana in the Union cabinet still remained suspense till the last reports came in. The exit of Bandaru Dattatreya from the Union Cabinet has fuelled intense speculation among the State BJP leaders about the possibilities of a State leader replacing Dattatreya.

Two names that were doing rounds among the BJP circles were the party National general secretary P Muralidhar Rao from Karimnagar district and Sriram Vedire, who hails from Yadadri – Bhongir district.

Party sources maintained that while Sriram Vedire had vast knowledge on irrigation systems, P Muralidhar Rao had been with the party through thick and thin.

Sriram Vedire is currently working as an advisor to Uma Bharati, Union Minister for Water Resources and to the Ganga Rejuvenation project.

He has vast knowledge in irrigation sector and had helped different States as a water resource advisor.

BJP leaders say that he could be of help putting up arguments on irrigation sector in Telagana, as currently not many among the BJP leaders are well-versed with the irrigation sector.

Party source say that Muralidhar Rao also stands a good chance for induction into the Union Cabinet. He had worked at various levels in the BJP state and national units.

Right from his student days, he had actively worked in ABVP and later in Swadeshi Jagaran Manch. Interestingly, both Sriram Vedire and Muralidhar Rao are both in New Delhi.



Tags: Andhra Pradesh BJP Hari Babu Telangana