Home PoliticsGossip

Can Expelled MLAs Vote In RS Polls?

Can Expelled MLAs Vote In RS Polls?

Suspense prevails over the status of the two Congress MLAs, who were expelled from the Telangana assembly for their alleged rude behaviour in the House during the address of Governor E S L Narasimhan to the joint session of the legislature last week.

As per the assembly records, Komatireddy Venkat Reddy and S A Sampath Kumar are no more MLAs, as the state government had issued gazette notification.

However, the Election Commission has not declared their seats vacant yet, as the Hyderabad high court imposed a stay on the notification of their vacancies for six weeks.

Interestingly, the high court did not make any comments on their expulsion from the House and only sought the clippings of the House proceedings on the alleged attack on legislative council chairman K Swamy Goud. As such, it did not clearly say the two leaders continue to be MLAs.

A meeting of the Congress legislature party discussed this issue and could not decide as to whether Komatireddy and Sampath could vote in the Rajya Sabha elections are not. CLP Leader K Jana Reddy appointed T Rammohan Reddy, MLA, Parigi as the chief whip in place of Sampath Kumar to be on the safe side.

Jana Reddy said the Advocate General in his affidavit did not even mention about the injury caused to Swamy Goud.

“We have every respect to Hon’ble chairman. We are only asking for evidences to show that he was hurt in the episode,” he demanded.

Jana Reddy expressed hope that the expelled MLAs would be able to vote in the RS polls. He appealed to the TDP leaders to support the Congress candidate in RS polls.



Tags: Congress Rajya Sabha Telangana