Home PoliticsAndhra News

Will Yatra give any bharosa to Cong in AP?

Will Yatra give any bharosa to Cong in AP?

At a time when senior leaders are leaving the Congress party in Andhra Pradesh one after the other, the party is desperately trying to make its presence felt in the ensuing general elections in the state, at least to some extent.

In the last two days, two senior leaders decided to quit the Congress party.

On Monday, former Union minister Kishore Chandra Deo announced that he would be soon joining the Telugu Desam Party, as the Congress has miserably failed to win the confidence of the people and prove its ability to come to power by defeating BJP led by Narendra Modi.

And on Tuesday, another former Union minister Killi Krupa Rani met YSR Congress party president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy at his Lotus Pond residence in Hyderabad and decided to join the party.

Despite these setbacks, the Congress leaders have started a bus yatra from Anantapur to convince the voters that they are sincere about achieving special category status to Andhra Pradesh.

Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister G. Parameshwara, Cabinet Minister D.K. Shivakumar and other party leaders were present at the launch of the yatra. The yatra has been christened as Pratyeka Hoda Bharosa Praja Yatra. 

State Congress chief N. Raghuveera Reddy is leading the bus yatra which will cover all 13 districts before concluding at Srikakulam on March 3. This yatra will cover a total of 2251 km and will conclude at Srikakulam district on 3 March.

During the Pratyeka Hoda Bharosa Praja Yatra, many state leaders, national leaders, party star campaigners will be taking part in the yatra.

PCC chief said that on 22 February, AICC president Rahul Gandhi will participate in the yatra at Tirupati and on 27 February AICC working president Priyanka Gandhi will be joining the yatra.

Let us see, if the Congress, which was completely wiped out of the state in AP in 2014, will make a comeback at least partially in 2019.

Click Here for Latest Direct-to-OTT Releases (List Updates Daily)


Tags: Congress Andhra Pradesh Special Status Bus Yatra Pratyeka Hoda Bharosa Praja Yatra