Home PoliticsAndhra News

Vijayawada jinxed for defeated MPs?

Vijayawada jinxed for defeated MPs?

Has Vijayawada parliamentary constituency become jinxed for the leaders who have lost the elections there? 

It appears so, after watching the episode of Kesineni Srinivas alias Nani, who has been defeated in the just concluded Lok Sabha elections from Vijayawada parliamentary constituency. On Monday, Kesineni announced that he is quitting politics for ever.

It was the case with almost all those who had either retired from politics, quit politics or faded into political oblivion for the rest of their life. It happened with former MPs like Chennupati Vidya, Parvathaneni Upendra, Vadde Sobhadreeshwar Rao, Ashwini Dutt, Lagadapati Rajagopal, Koneru Rajendra Prasad and Potluri Vara Prasad.

All of them made a quiet exit from politics. Upendra, Chennupadi Vidya, Koneru Rajendra Prasad passed away over a period of time. Vara Prasad made a desperate attempt to come back into active politics last year by joining Jana Sena, but it did not work out. He later joined the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Only Vallabhaneni Vamsi, who lost the Lok Sabha election in 2009 in the hands of Lagadapati Rajagopal, became an MLA later. But now, he lost miserably in the 2024 assembly elections on the YSRCP ticket and at least for the next five years, there is no chance of recovery from him.

On the other hand, Gadde Rammohan from the TDP, too, won as an MP from Vijayawada, but did not lose the parliament elections. So, he is still continuing as an MLA. This time, Kesineni Chinni won the Vijayawada Lok Sabha seat. It would be interesting to see how long this gentleman continues in that post.


Tags: Vijayawada Andhra Pradesh