Home PoliticsAndhra News

More demands surface on naming of new districts

More demands surface on naming of new districts

The naming of some of the districts by the Jagan Mohan Reddy government in the name of legendary personalities like former chief minister N T Rama Rao, revolutionary freedom fighter Alluri Seetharama Raju and saint composer Annamayya, besides god Lord Balaji, has kicked up more such demands from various sections.

Prominent Kapu leader and former minister Mudragada Padmanabham demanded that newly-formed Konaseema district should be named after Balayogi.

It is not clear whether he was talking about sage Balayogi of Mummidivaram or former Lok Sabha speaker and Telugu Desam Party leader late G M C Balayogi.

In a letter to the chief minister, Mudragada also demanded that either East Godavari or West Godavari district should be named after Dr B R Ambedkar. Similarly, he wanted any other district be named as Vijayanagara emperor Sri Krishnadevaraya.

On the other hand, family of prominent Kapu leader Vangaveeti opposed naming of Vijayawada district after N T Rama Rao.

Though TDP leader Vangaveeti Radhakrishna did not make any comment, his cousin and BJP leader Vangaveeti Narendra demanded that instead of NTR, Vijayawada should be named after Vangaveeti Mohan Ranga, who sacrificed his life for the people of Vijayawada.

“We have making this demand for quite long time. If Jagan has so much love for NTR, it should rename Machilipatnam as NTR district,” he asked.

Kapu Samkshema Sena president Ch Harirama Jogaiah expressed unhappiness over declaring Bhimavaram as the headquarters of West Godavari district, instead of Narasapuram.

“It is a victory of YSRC leaders from Bhimavaram but a loss to the people of Narasapuram,” he said.

Interestingly, YSRC MP from Ongole Magunta Srinivasulu Reddy suggested that there should be more districts in the state.

“I already told Jagan to see that there should be a district for every five assembly constituencies. So, it is better to have 35 districts, instead of 26, so that it would be easier for administration,” he said.


Tags: Andhra Pradesh new districts