Home PoliticsGossip
TDP wins Nandyal hands down: Howzzat?

The ruling Telugu Desam Party finally ended up winning the prestigious by-election to Nandyal assembly seat, with a huge margin of 27,466 votes over the main opposition YSR Congress party.

TDP candidate Bhuma Brahmanand Reddy polled 97,066 votes, as against 69,610 votes secured by YSRC candidate Silpa Mohan Reddy. Congress party candidate Abdul Khader could get just 1,382 votes and lost his deposit.

The by-election, which was necessitated due to the sudden death of sitting MLA Bhuma Nagi Reddy in March this year, was held on August 23 and the counting of took place on Monday.

Except the 16th round of counting in which the YSRC managed to get a majority of 654 votes, TDP candidate Brahmanand Reddy retained majority in all the 18 other rounds thereby establishing a clear lead over Silpa Mohan Reddy.

Even in the rural Nandyal and Gospadu mandal, where the YSRC was expected to gain a massive lead over the TDP, the result was other way round.

It is quite common that the ruling party always enjoys the advantage in any bypoll, as was indicated in the by-elections in Goa and Delhi. So, it was not surprising that the TDP won the by-poll.

But the YSRC moved heaven and earth to win the elections to establish an anti-establishment wave in the state. But, the voters of Nandyal seem to have felt it would be better not to antagonise the ruling party at least till the general elections!



Tags: Nandyal TDP YSR Congress