Home PoliticsGossip
Kakinada: TDP, YSRC groups indulge in clashes!

The polling for the Kakinada Municipal Corporation elections began at 7 AM on Tuesday, amidst tense situation in several places with the rival groups belonging to the ruling TDP and opposition YSR Congress party indulging in clashes at several places.

Nearly 2.80 lakh voters are expected to cast their votes in the elections and the voting will take place in 192 polling stations out of which 35 are hyper-sensitive polling stations. By 1 pm, 45 per cent of the voters exercised their franchise.

The TDP-BJP combine and YSRCP are contesting in 48 divisions, Congress in 17 divisions while CPI and CPM are fielded their candidates in four divisions each.

High tension prevailed at the 14th ward, as two groups clashed after candidates requested the voters to vote for their leader. It is alleged that Pithapuram MLA Varma was violating the election code following which the YSRCP supporters asked him to leave the place. 

The party activists argued with the police in this issue and this led to the clash between the ruling and opposition party supporters. To pacify the situation, the police intervened and dispersed the crowd. 

YCP leaders even staged protests at 39th ward in Kakinada claiming that the polling officers along with the police were supporting and working for TDP. The situation turned tense after clashes erupted at the polling centre but the police intervened and calmed the crowd.

Police have beefed up security arrangements to prevent further untoward incidents.



Tags: Kakinada TDP YSR Congress