Home PoliticsGossip

Goel ignores TDP MPs, meets YSRC MP

Goel ignores TDP MPs, meets YSRC MP

The Telugu Desam Party is paying price for its aggressive onslaught on the Centre after withdrawing its ministers from the Narendra Modi cabinet.

A day after the Union home ministry officials categorically rejecting the demand for establishment of a separate railway zone for AP with Visakhapatnam as headquarters, the TDP MPs sought an appointment with Union railway minister Piyush Goel on Tuesday to request him to take a political decision on the railway zone.

Goel initially asked them to come in the evening, but when they went to his office, he refused to meet them on the pretext that he was extremely busy. The MPs waited for more than an hour and returned with blank faces.

Sources said the MPs were surprised when they saw YSR Congress party MP V Varaprasad Rao coming out of the minister’s chambers, as they were waiting outside.

The YSRC MP is learnt to have come to Goel to represent on the railway projects pending in his Tirupati constituency.

The shocked and humiliated TDP MPs brought it to the notice of party president and chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu on Wednesday morning.

“It clearly showed that the Bharatiya Janata Party is deliberately avoiding us, because we are demanding our right. Now people wonder whether the BJP is an ally to the TDP or YSRC,” he said.

On Monday, Union home secretary Rajiv Guaba told the AP government officials that it was not possible to grant a separate railway zone with Visakhapatnam as the headquarters on the ground that it is neither not technically feasible nor financially viable.

According to sources, Gauba told the AP officials that the state would not get any benefit out of the new railway zone at Visakhapatnam, as it was not a viable proposition.

He pointed out that the committee appointed by the Indian Railways to examine the feasibility of special zone project had submitted the report and it had found that the proposal was not a viable one.



Tags: Chandrababu Naidu Narendra Modi railway zone