Home PoliticsAndhra News

Sharmila to announce candidature for Kadapa LS

Sharmila to announce candidature for Kadapa LS

It is now official. Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee president and chief minister Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy’s sister Y S Sharmila will be contesting the ensuing Lok Sabha elections from Kadapa parliamentary constituency.

According to a statement from APCC general secretary in-charge of administration and organisation S N Raja, Sharmila herself will announce her candidature for the Kadapa Lok Sabha seat at the samadhi of her father late Y S Rajasekhar Reddy at Idupulapaya on Tuesday.

Sharmila’s name was finalised along with a few other MP seats at the All India Congress Committee (AICC)’s central election committee meeting held in New Delhi on Monday.

Along with Sharmila, the AICC finalised the candidatures of Gidugu Rudra Raju from Rajahmundry Lok Sabha seat, Satya Reddy from Visakhapatnam, M M Pallam Raju from Kakinada and J D Seelam from Bapatla.

Former APCC president N Raghuveera Reddy is said to be not interested in contesting the elections, but would campaign for the party all over the state, reports from Delhi said.

The party has kept pending the announcement of candidates for Tirupati, Nandyal, Anantapur, Guntur, Vijayawada, Amalapuram, Kurnool and Araku seats, because of the possible alliance with the Communist parties.

In all, the AICC finalised the candidates for 117 assembly and 17 Lok Sabha seats and kept pending another 58 assembly and eight Lok Sabha seats.

The list is likely to be announced by Monday night or Tuesday morning.


Tags: Sharmila Congress Andhra Pradesh Kadapa