Home PoliticsAndhra News

Naidu picks Krishna Devarayalu as TDPP leader!

Naidu picks Krishna Devarayalu as TDPP leader!

Newly elected Parliament member of the TDP from Narsaraopet, Lavu Sri Krishna Devarayalu, has won the trust of party president and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, despite being a last-minute defector from the YSR Congress Party before the recent elections.

On Saturday, Naidu selected Krishna Devarayalu as the leader of the Telugu Desam Parliamentary Party (TDPP), a recognition he might not have expected.

The TDP won 16 Lok Sabha seats in the recent elections, and except for a couple of leaders like Vemireddy Prabhakar Reddy and Magunta Srinivasulu Reddy, all the others are newcomers.

Of course, K. Rammohan Naidu, who was the TDPP leader last time, is also an experienced leader, but he has been inducted into the Narendra Modi cabinet as Union Minister for Civil Aviation.

So, Naidu had to choose the best among the remaining MPs. Though he had the option of selecting Vemireddy or Magunta, the TDP chief apparently wanted a young leader who can effectively present the party’s stand in Parliament.

At the TDPP meeting held at the party headquarters in Mangalagiri, Naidu gave directions to the party MPs on how to address state issues with the Centre in the upcoming Parliament sessions.

Union Ministers Rammohan Naidu and Pemmasani Chandrasekhar also attended the meeting.


Tags: Andhra Pradesh Chandrababu Naidu TDPP Lavu Krishna Devarayalu