Home ArticlesSpecial Articles

Andhra Pradesh now has 26 districts!

Andhra Pradesh now has 26 districts!

As expected, the Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy government in Andhra Pradesh reorganised the existing 13 districts of the state into 26 districts.

The gazette notification to this effect was issued around Tuesday midnight, hours after it was formally approved by the state cabinet chaired by the chief minister online. Apparently, the chief minister wanted the formation of new districts to be announced on the Republic Day.

As announced earlier by Jagan Mohan Reddy, there would be one district for each Parliamentary constituency. However, Araku parliamentary constituency being the largest, it was divided into two districts.

So, instead of 25 districts for 25 parliamentary constituencies, there will now be 26 districts. The divided districts were named not necessarily with their parliamentary constituencies’ names, but were given different names.

The new districts and their district headquarters are as follows:

1. Srikakulam: Srikakulam
2. Vizianagaram: Vizianagaram 
3. Manyam: Parvathipuram 
4. Alluri Sitharama Raju: Paderu 
5. Visakhapatnam:  Visakhapatnam 
6. Anakapalli: Anakapalli 
7. Kakinada: Kakinada 
8. Kona Seema:  Amalapuram 
9. East Godavari: Rajamahendravaram 
10. West Godavari: Bheemavaram 
11. Eluru: Eluru 
12. Krishna: Machilipatnam 
13. NTR: Vijayawada 
14. Guntur: Guntur 
15. Bapatla: Bapatla 
16. Palnadu: Narsaraopeta 
17. Prakasam: Ongole 
18. SPS Nellore: Nellore 
19. Kurnool: Kurnool 
20. Nandyal Nandyal 
21. Ananthapuram: Ananthapuram 
22. Sri Satyasai: Puttaparthy 
23. YSR Kadapa: Kadapa 
24. Annamayya: Rayachoty 
25. Chittoor: Chittoor 
26. Sri Balaji: Tirupati


Tags: Andhra Pradesh new districts