Home PoliticsGossip

Why only one-side visuals in T-assembly?

Why only one-side visuals in T-assembly?

The Congress party members on Monday cried foul over the expulsion of two MLAs for the rest of the term of the assembly and suspension of 11 other MLAs for their alleged unruly behaviour against Governor E S L Narasimhan.

Speaker S Madhusudhana Chary declared that Nalgonda MLA Komatireddy Venkat Reddy and Alampur MLA S A Sampath Kumar had been dismissed from the assembly membership and 11 others were suspended.

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi members produced a video clipping in which Komatireddy was seen throwing headphones at the Governor when he was addressing the joint session Monday.

The TRS members alleged that the headphone hit the right eye of Legislative Council Speaker K Swamy Goud resulting in injury.

The Congress members, however, rejected the theory that Goud was hurt with the headphone hitting his eye.

“The TRS members are producing only one-side visuals of Komatireddy throwing the headphone. There are no visuals as to where the headphone has fallen. Though there were at least two cameras focussing only on the podium, the TRS members have not produced any evidence to show that the headphone had indeed hit Swamy Goud’s eye,” they argued.

They also pointed out that before expelling the two members and suspending the others, the Speaker should have at least asked for an explanation from the accused MLAs.

“It was unilateral decision of the Speaker under the direction of chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao and others,” Congress MLA and PCC chief Uttam Kumar Reddy said.

Surprisingly, BJP floor leader G Kishan Reddy came in support of the Congress members and strongly opposed their suspension.

He also felt the Speaker should have consulted all parties before moving the motion for suspension of 11 members.

In the Legislative Council, too, six Congress members -- Shabbir Ali, Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy, Akula Lalitha, Damodar Reddy, P Sudhakar Reddy and Santosh. -- were suspended for the current session.



Tags: Assembly Telangana